New Hampton/Turkey Valley’s Alex Kriener works to get back points in a match against St. Ansgar’s Jaden Hutchinson in the opening round of the South Winneshiek Invitational Saturday.

Depth lifts NH/TV to title

Chickasaws roll to three dual wins, South Winn crown

Denver had more champs, but New Hampton/Turkey Valley had more “scorers,” if you will.

And the lesson of the day on Saturday at the South Winneshiek Invitational was this: It takes an entire team to win a wrestling tournament.

Getting points from all 14 of its wrestlers, the Chickasaws got its first tournament title of the season as NH/TV finished with 233.5 points, 16 more than Denver, which dropped its longtime partnership with Tripoli earlier this season.

“It was nice to see everyone get on the board,” New Hampton/Turkey Valley coach Nick Hemann said. “I don’t get too worked up about a tournament this early in the season, but hopefully, it does equate to more success down the road. I thought for the most part we wrestled pretty well.”

The Chickasaws got championship runs from Carson Babcock (120), Michael Blockhus (145), Noah Fye (152) and Noah Glaser (182) while Mason Cleveland (126), Cale Reicks (160) and Areon Day (220) all finished second.

The key, though, may have been New Hampton’s depth as Max Babcock (132) finished third, Jon Dreckman (106), Alex Kriener (113) and Evan Rosonke (195) finished fourth, Max Schwickerath (170) and Tom Clark (285) took fifth and Hunter Pesek (138) took sixth.

“It was good to see Johnny and Alex get a couple of nice wins,” Hemann said.

All the New Hampton results from the meet may be found in the Dec. 12 Tribune.

New Hampton Tribune

10 North Chestnut Ave
New Hampton, IA 50659
Phone: (641) 394-2111

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Tribune Newsletter feed
Comment Here